Subscriptions & Donations ×

Dehumidifiers

hughezee

• Administrators

I've been using dehumidifier in my cars for a couple of years now and its surprising how much water they pick-up throughout the year not just the winter months.

IMG_20160418_123129.jpgIMG_20160418_123143.jpg

I've just replaced the one in my Accord as its full after approximately 4 months and before you say I have leak I don't, the daily driver Shuttle has been going through them like nobody's business :lol: The long term effects are pretty clear to the cars longevity and keeping the moisture low will not only keep it rust free for allot longer in the areas often to difficult to weld further down the road but all the electrical components and connections wont suffer as much either :D

IMG_20160418_123204.jpgIMG_20160418_123239.jpg

• Like 1

• 2 months later...
  • Founding Member

Stu recommended putting some of these damp traps in the boot to combat damp etc, so I thought I would get one for a £1 and see if they work.  Pictured below is my mini damp trap which lives in the boot, as you can see, it's doing it's job and collecting quite a lot of moisture!!  :o

86E1A6A4-F0B6-4B27-8618-3C6C7CD56325_zps

• Like 2

• Moderators

As we all know, warm/hot air is very moist and less dense than cold air where the moisture tends to condense out and land on the ground.

Hence air-con being very useful in winter when the moisture is dropping out of the air more easily and fogging up the windows! ;):D

• Like 2

• Moderators
46 minutes ago, GeoffPurpleHaze said:

Hang on....hang on...."sunshine damp traps"  :huh:  Are these different to the Poundland or Asda jobbies?

Don't worry Geoff - it's "Liquid Sunshine" they're referring to...................... :D

23 minutes ago, hughezee said:

Rising damp are the ones to watch :lol:

Indeed Miss Jones! ;):lol::D

• Like 1

• 2 years later...
  • 4 years later...
  • Site Subscriber’s