Subscriptions & Donations ×

Hello! Newbie with a V6!

arif_manji

Hello guys!

I'm a newbie with a v6! So... last week I purchased a Honda Accord Coupe v6 automatic that only has 51,000 miles on the clock. I've always driven Prelude's and this is my first Accord v6. I do have some questions if anyone can help me with to get me started:

- the VTEC doesn't kick in at 3.5k, and engine sound doesnt change etc. There is no CEL or issues. The oil is at max but I think it could do with changing as it does look old. Anything else you guys may think it is?

- What oil grade does it take? Some are saying 5w40 and some are saying 0w20,

- The gearbox oil needs changing, as it isn't that red cherry as I usually see in these Honda cars.

This car was going to be a tidy up and sell off, but really starting to like it now.

Cheers

29-B94-C32-323-A-4-C89-B994-52-C33-D12-C

• Like 3

• Moderators

Welcome aboard the best source of info on the wibbly-wobbly-web!

Oil should be 10W40 semi-synthetic, before you change it add 0.5L of Carlube ATF-U to the engine oil and drive it for at least a week. This will help clean things out, including the hydraulic lifters and the VTEC valves.

While that's doing its stuff in the engine, get yourself a tub to drain the gearbox ATF, you'll need a 3/8" square drain plug key (or a 3/8" drive ratchet), get the engine and box nice and warm then switch off, remove the drain plug and let the fluid drain into a suitable container.

Clean and refit the drain plug then top up to the required level with ATF-U - many people on here will suggest Valvoline ATF and yes, it's a very good fluid but for now, it would seem you're going to need to get the old stuff out as quickly and cheaply as possible, ATF-U is cheaper than Valvoline and still conforms to Honda ATF Z-1 spec.

I can't remember the exact amount but it's around 3L to bring it back to the right level.